Belfast Telegraph NI Football League Championship Two

Moyola Park 1 (Gallagher)  Limavady United 5 ( Brown 2, Friel, Harkin, Ferris)

November has been a bad month for Moyola Park with three defeats in Championship Two, two of them at Mill Meadow. Gareth Brown opened the scoring after 7 minutes from the edge of the penalty area having dispossessed Diarmuid Larkin. Two minutes later Chris Dowie had a good opportunity to equalize but he fired wide of  Matthew McGraw’s net. Jason Paul had to be substituted after 18 minutes following a foul on him in the Moyola Park penalty area with Conor Deane coming on as replacement. Brown notched a second goal for the visitors on 28 minutes the ball taking a deflection off Stephen McQuillan.  Mark Waddell hit McGraw’s crossbar on 35 minutes. Three minutes later Cathail Friel added to the Limavady scoreline, taking adavantage of careless Moyola Park defending he slotted the ball past Marty Rea. Moyola Park’s woes were compounded seconds before the halftime whistle when Lee Harkin crashed a 30 yard thunderbolt into the home net.

Andrew Ferris made it 5-0 after 8 minutes of the second half. Ten minutes later Curtis Hassan’s free kick was saved by McGraw. Sean McCabe was unfortunate not to get on the score sheet with a couple of headers and Craig McAllister shot straight at McGraw from the edge of the penalty area. Eugene Gallagher headed a consolation goal for Moyola Park with eight minutes left on the clock. This was another disappointing performance at Mill Meadow for Moyola Park and even a pheasant left early flying across the pitch majestically. With an Irish Cup game next week at Mill Meadow against fellow Championship Two side Glebe Rangers the Moyola Park lads will have to up their game considerably if they want to make the draw for round five when the NIFL Premiership sides enter the fray.

Moyola Park: Marty Rea, Craig McAllister, Robbie Lucas (Maurice Curtis), Steven McQuillan, Sean McCabe, Mark Waddell (Connor Barrow 70), Jason Paul (Conor Deane 18), Eugene Gallagher, Chris Dowie, Diarmuid Larkin, Curtis Hassan. Subs not used: Gareth Stewart, David Paul

Limavady United:  Matthew McGraw, Marcus O’Kane, Bryan McClelland, Ryan Mullan, Hugh Carlin, Gary McFadden, Lee Harkin, Gerard Logue, Andrew Ferris, Cathair Friel, Gareth Brown. Substitutes: Blain Morrison, Corey McMullan, Calvin McCallion, Jack Heaney, Adrian McLaughlin